REDISCOYER

DOWNTOWN

2018 ANNUAL MEETING & AWARDS CELEBRATION

Honoring Shirley Franklin, Mary Ann Hearn and Grady Health System

THURSDAY, MARCH 29TH \\ GEORGIA WORLD CONGRESS CENTER \\ SIDNEY MARCUS AUDITORIUM

WELCOME Richard J. McKay 2017-18 CAP Chairman

ELECTION OF 2018 CAP LEADERSHIP Richard J. McKay

2018 MARCUS DOWNTOWN ECONOMIC IMPACT AWARD Presented to Grady Health System

A.J. Robinson

CAP/ADID President

2018 DAN SWEAT AWARD Presented to Shirley Franklin

ATLANTA DOWNTOWN
IMPROVEMENT DISTRICT AWARDS
Craig Jones
ADID Board Chairman

TURNER DOWNTOWN COMMUNITY LEADERSHIP AWARD

Presented to Mary Ann Hearn *by Lisa Harris, Senior Vice President, Turner*

CLOSING Richard J. McKay



THANK YOU TO OUR SPONSORS

PRESENTING



GOLD











SILVER























BRONZE





OUTFRONT











Dan Sweat Award: Shirley Franklin

Shirley Franklin was elected the first African American woman mayor of a major southern city in 2002 and served two terms until 2009. Currently she serves as Executive Board Chair of Purpose Built Communities, a non-profit consulting firm that works side-by-side with local leaders to plan and implement a holistic neighborhood revitalization effort.

From 2013 to 2016 Franklin served as the inaugural Barbara Jordan Chair in Ethics and Political Values at the Lyndon Baines Johnson School of Public Affairs at the University of Texas Austin, and from 2010 to 2012 she served as visiting professor in Political Science at Spelman College.

During her eight years in office, the city of Atlanta experienced unprecedented growth and afforded Franklin the opportunity to partner and collaborate with many local and regional leaders in addressing urban policy challenges. She is best known for advocating for and tackling major government operations and ethics reform,

launching the Atlanta Beltline, and planning and executing over \$5 billion in airport and water infrastructure improvements. Aside from her role as a public official, her community service spans over 40 years and includes her active participation in the arts, homelessness, higher education and politics.



Turner Downtown Community Leadership Award: **Mary Ann Hearn**

Mary Ann Hearn has been a champion of Atlanta's hospitality industry for 38 years through her work with Atlanta Convention and Visitors Bureau and other local organizations. She is actively involved with Central Atlanta Progress and the Concierge Society of Atlanta.

Mary Ann has lived in Atlanta for more than 40 years and was a member of the company that opened the Alliance Theatre, appearing in many shows during their inaugural seasons. Her talents have also graced the big screen, including an appearance in the Georgia-filmed *Return to Macon County* with Don Johnson and Nick Nolte, the latter's first movie.

Friends and visitors can always count on Mary Ann to know where to have the best meals in the city, which venue is best for hosting an event, or what's happening around Atlanta on any given weekend. She is always willing to share what makes her city so special.



Marcus Impact Award: Grady Health System

Grady Health System is one of the largest safety net health systems in the United States. As an economic engine, Grady...

- Employs 1,311 Fulton and 1,381 DeKalb County residents which represents nearly one-half of our workforce.
- Generates \$788 million in household earnings and \$1.7 billion in economic output each year.
- · Serves as the regional disaster coordinating body.
- Without Grady and its Level I Trauma Center, Atlanta could not host the Olympics, Super Bowl, Final Four or other large scale events and conferences that generate economic benefit to our region.



Atlanta Downtown Improvement District Awards



CHARLIE SMITHClean Team Member of the Year



ROZLYN SMITHAmbassador of the Year



ERICKIE GODFREYAPD Zone 5 Officer of the Year

2018 SLATE



CHAIRMAN Richard J. McKay Atlanta Falcons

TREASURER
Maxine Hicks
DLA Piper LLP

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE Tom Aderhold

Aderhold Properties Inc.

Harry Anderson The Coca-Cola Company

Ambrish Baisiwala Portman Holdings, LLC

Bryan BatsonSouthern Company Gas

Mark P. Becker Georgia State University

Susana Chavez Park Place

Kathy FarrellSunTrust Bank

Melissa FrawleyWells Fargo

Kirsten HadleyGeorgia-Pacific, LLC

Joe Handy Georgia Aquarium

Lisa Harris Turner

Bill HollettCousins Properties
Incorporated

Mary Ann Kessenich Bank of America

Raymond B. King Zoo Atlanta

John Kovac Cox Enterprises, Inc.

Steven J. Labovitz

Dentons US LLP

David Lee

Atlanta Hawks & Philips Arena

Eddie Meyers PNC Financial Services Group **Egbert Perry** Integral

Alicia Philipp
The Community Foundation
for Greater Atlanta

Steve ReisMcKinsey & Company

Steve Riddell
Troutman Sanders LLP

Jerome Russell Jr. H.J. Russell & Company

E. Kendrick Smith Jones Day

Scott Taylor CARTER

BOARD OF DIRECTORS Chris Ahrenkiel

Selig Enterprises, Inc.

Jerry Banks
The Dilweg Companies

Renay BlumenthalGrady Health System

Chris BontragerDPR Construction

James R. Borders Novare Group

Russell Brockelbank
Balfour Beatty Construction

Catherine Buell
Atlanta Housing Authority

Kevin R. Cantley Cooper Carry Inc.

Robert Cizek
Citizens Lanier Holdings

Citizens Lanier Holding

[ustin Clay]

NCR Corporation

Clark Dean
Transwestern

Manuel Deisen Omni Hotel at CNN Center

David EvansDixon Hughes Goodman, LLP

Brian FarleyComcast

Keith FlemingJPMorgan Chase & Co.

Stephen M. Forte Smith Gambrell & Russell LLP

John GiegerichBranch Banking & Trust Co.

Greg HareOgletree Deakins

Donald C. HarrisHNTB Corporation

Glenn P. Hendrix
Arnall Golden Gregory LLP

Tad HutchesonDelta Air Lines

David HutchisonThe Beck Group

John Izard Jr.Cushman & Wakefield Inc.

Matt JacobsGamma Real Estate

Joshua M. Kamin King & Spalding

Eloisa Klementich* Invest Atlanta

Matt Knisely
Shorenstein Properties

Brad Koeneman Hilton Atlanta

Andrew Kohr

Kenneth Kraft
Parker Hudson Rainer &
Dobbs LLP

Stephen Krauska* Atlanta Downtown Neighborhood Association

Wendy Langlais-Tillery
CohnReznick LLP

Milton J. Little Jr. United Way of Greater Atlanta

David D. Marvin Legacy Ventures

Devon McCorkleCIM Group

Samuel H. McGarr

Peter McMahon Hyatt Regency Atlanta

Thomas J. Meinhart Jacobs Engineering Group

Al Mers SkyView Atlanta

David MillerHolder Construction
Company

Glenn Mitchell

Hala Moddelmog* Metro Atlanta Chamber

Jake Nawrocki Newport US RE, L.P.

Arun P. Nijhawan Lucror Resources

Daniel OwensEmory University Hospital
Midtown

William Pate*
Atlanta Convention & Visitors
Bureau

Danny Patton Skanska USA Building, Inc.

Frank Poe Georgia World Congress Center Authority

Jeff Portman AMC Inc.

Shak Presswala

Jamestown, L.P.

Drew PuttGeorgia's Own Credit Union

Erica Qualls-Battey Atlanta Marriott Marquis Hotel

Denise Quarles Siemens

Robert Ragan New South Construction

Don Reynolds Perkins + Will **Mark Riley**Urban Realty Partners

Mark C. Rusche Alston & Bird LLP

Erwin SchinnerlThe Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta

Lain Shakespeare MailChimp

Mike Sivewright

David Smith Regions Bank

Matt Smith

Scott Smith WRS, Inc.

Ron Tarson
The Westin Peachtree Plaza

Rachel TobinJackson Spalding

David Todd Jr.CB Richard Ellis Inc.

Kung Ven AECOM

Mark VollbrechtZeller Realty Group

David WalmsleyColliers International

Becky Ward tvs-design

Taylor WhiteBanyan Street Capital

Betty E. Willis* Emory University

Alan M. Wise The Boston Consulting Group Inc.