Downtown Akron Special Improvement District, Inc. 2024 Annual Board of Directors Meeting

ጼ

Downtown Akron Partnership Annual Meeting Minutes

Lee Walko, Chair of the DASID, called the meeting to order at 4:17 pm on November 14, 2024, in person at 159 Events on Main.

Upon a motion duly made and seconded the agenda for the 2024 DASID meeting was unanimously approved.

Upon a motion duly made and seconded the minutes from the 2023 DASID meeting were unanimously approved.

Sean Vollman presented board nominations.

DASID Board Election

- There were no nominations from the floor nor any abstentions.
- Directors Re-Elected
 - Lee Walko
 - Mike Kunce

Upon a motion duly made and seconded, the Director nominations were unanimously approved.

SID Officer Election

There were no nominations from the floor nor any abstentions.

The officers nominated were:

- Lee Walko (chair)
- Mike Kunce (secretary)
- Denise Armstrong (treasurer)

Upon a motion duly made and seconded, the officer nominations were unanimously approved.

SID Audit Review

Denise Armstrong presented a review of the DASID financials. The DASID financials were reviewed and upon a motion duly made and seconded, the DASID financial statements were unanimously approved.

Upon a motion duly made and seconded, the DASID portion of the meeting was adjourned.

Julie Wesel, Chair of the DAP Board of Directors, then presided over the DAP Board of Directors meeting.

Upon a motion duly made and seconded the minutes from the 2023 DAP annual meeting were unanimously approved as written.

Pam Hickson-Stevenson, Treasurer, presented the financial report. Upon a motion duly made and seconded the 2023/2024 financial statements were unanimously approved with no abstentions.

Michael Derr presented board nominations.

DAP Board of Directors Election

- There were no nominations from the floor nor any abstentions
- Board members nominated for re-election (term ending 2027)
 - Luis Escudero Muniz
 - Sue Hobson
 - o Ralph Palmisano
 - Laura Wallerstein
- New members nominated for Board service (term ending 2027)
 - o Rachel Bridenstine
 - Heather Raybould
 - Brittany Ferguson-Mike
 - o Traci Buckner
 - Rick Rogers
 - Willy Kollman
- Officers
 - Julie Wesel (chair)
 - Greta Johnson (vice chair)
 - Laura Wallerstein (secretary)
 - Gregg Mervis (treasurer)

Upon a motion duly made and seconded, all nominations were unanimously approved.

Julie Wesel acknowledged the long career and board service of board member Gary Rickel. Suzie Graham Moore presented a proclamation on behalf of Mayor Shammas Malik that November 14, 2024 shall be Gary Rickel Day in the City of Akron. Greta Johnson issued a proclamation on behalf of Summit County Executive Ilene Shapiro that November 14, 2024 shall be Gary Rickel Day in Summit County. Kimberly Beckett presented Gary Rickel with a gift on behalf of DAP staff.

Gary Rickel addressed the room.

Kimberly Beckett presented a Downtown Akron programming report.

Julie Wesel thanked Kimberly Beckett for her leadership.

Sean Vollman provided an update on the City of Akron's projects:

- New residential units
- Cascade Parking Deck updates
- 50 S. Main St. improvements
- Lock 3 grand reopening

Upon a motion duly made and seconded, the meeting was adjourned at 4:56 pm.