

MINUTES OF THE DOWNTOWN MEMPHIS COMMISSION

Friday, January 22, 2021 9:00 A.M. 114 North Main Street

Due to the declarations of a State of Emergency by the President of the United States, the Governor of Tennessee, and the Mayor of Memphis relating to the COVID-19 Pandemic, the Downtown Memphis Commission (DMC) has determined that it is necessary that the meeting be conducted by electronic or other means of communication in order to protect the health, safety, and welfare of the public, DMC staff, and DMC board members. This meeting of the DMC was held via Zoom virtual meeting. Board members participated by phone with all materials made available to them as well as the public in advance. Procedures were in place to identify all participants on the call including members of the public and allow for questions and public comment.

Board Members Present: Deni Reilly, John Zeanah (for Mayor Harris), Joann Massey (for Mayor Strickland), Benjamin Orgel, John Pontius, Representative Barbara Cooper, Terry Woodard, Victoria Young, Commissioner Mickell Lowery, Demar Roberts, Williams Brack, Julie Ellis, Cheryl Pesce, and Elizabeth Low

Board Members Not Present: Councilwoman Cheyenne Johnson, and Senator Raumesh Akbari

Staff Present: Ray Brown, Jennifer Oswalt, Christine Taylor, Brett Roler, Penelope Springer, Penelope Huston, Erik Stevenson, Katie Flynn, Abram Lueders, Kaeyla Willis, Jonathan Mosley, Jaske Goff, Lauren Crabtree, Clint Burke, and Debra Streeter

Guests: James McLaren (Counsel), Tom Bailey, Shanae McKinney (DMA), Joyce Selina Love (DRB), James Stokes, Jayme Stokes, Mike Humes, Corinne Kennedy, and Member of Public

Deni Reilly determined that a quorum was present and called the meeting to order at 9:02 AM. Christine Taylor called roll for board members and staff. After reviewing meeting protocols, Chairman Reilly called for approval of the minutes from December 17, 2020 meeting. Julie Ellis motioned to approve the minutes as presented, Victoria Young seconded the motion, after roll call vote, the motion passed unanimously.

Chairman Reilly called for agenda item III: Chair's Report

Chairman Reilly welcomed new board member Victoria Young. Finalized a consultant contract with Jennifer Oswalt.

Chairman Reilly updated board on the search committee meeting that was held on January 21st. Julie Ellis presented the search committee recommendation of Adams Keegan. Julie Ellis motioned to approve the recommendation as presented, JoAnn Massey seconded the motion, after roll call vote, the motion passed unanimously.

Chairman Reilly updated the board on the recommended nominating committee members. Board members Elizabeth Low, Williams Brack and Benjamin Orgel have nominated to serve on the committee. Terry Woodard motioned to approve the recommendation as presented, Cheryl Pesce seconded the motion, after roll call vote, the motion passed unanimously.

Chairman Reilly called for agenda item IV: Financial Update

Penelope Springer presented monthly financial report and reviewed financial highlights. Penelope Springer answered questions from board members.

Chairman Reilly called for agenda item VII: President's Report

Ray Brown gave a brief update on ongoing Downtown projects and the new Business Continuity Grant. New staff member, Lauren Crabtree introduced herself and gave a brief background. She is the new Transportation Program Manager.

Julie Ellis requested that the board receives updates on the Mobility Center and ongoing projects.

Chairman Reilly called for agenda item VIII: New Business/ Adjournment

Chairman Reilly made brief closing remarks and meeting was adjourned.