

#### MINUTES OF THE DOWNTOWN MEMPHIS COMMISSION

## Thursday, July 25, 2024, 9 AM 114 North Main Street

**Board Members Present:** Benjamin Orgel (Chair), Williams Brack (Treasurer), Ray Brown, Janice Banks, Elizabeth Low (Secretary), Victoria Young, John Zeanah (for Mayor Harris), Willie Brooks, and Ed Stephans III

**Board Members Not Present:** Senator Lauren Stimac, Raumesh Akbari, Surayyah Hasan, Ashley Cash (for Mayor Strickland), Commissioner Mickell Lowery, and Councilman JB Smiley

**Staff Present:** Chandell Ryan, Christine Taylor, Brett Roler, Penelope Springer, Milton Howery, Tori Haliburton, Lawrence Green, Sam Caldwell, and Brian Mykulyn.

#### **Guests:**

Chairman Benjamin Orgel called the meeting to order at 9:05 AM. Christine Taylor called roll to confirm quorum. After quorum was confirmed, Chairman Orgel called for approval of the June 27, 2024, minutes. Williams Brack motioned to approve the June 27<sup>th</sup> minutes as presented, Ray Brown seconded the motion, after roll call vote, the motion passed unanimously.

#### Chairman Benjamin Orgel called for agenda item III: Chair's Report

Chairman Orgel first apologized for not attend the meeting in person, he is a first-time dad, and he is home taking care of Mom and baby. DMC President Chandell Ryan, board members and staff all sent congratulation on the birth of Rosie Nicole Orgel. Chairman Orgel thanked staff and board for allowing him to serve as board chair for the last three years. He looks forward to the next recommended slate of officers.

### Chairman Benjamin Orgel called for agenda item IV: Financial Update

Penelope Springer presented the year-end financial update and monthly highlights. Staff accountant, Sam Caldwell gave a brief review of the CCDC approved commitments. Williams Brack thanked Penelope Springer for her work on the financials.

Before moving to next item, John Zeanah asked Brett Roler about the status of the Design Guidelines. Yesterday was the deadline for DRB members to send final comments and them staff will prepare a complete first draft before public engagement.

# <u>Chairman Benjamin Orgel called for agenda item V: Nominating Committee Recommendations & Officer Elections</u>

Chairman Orgel called for Elizabeth Low to present Officer Nominations. Elizabeth Low reported that the nominating committee met on July 24<sup>th</sup> and reviewed recommendations for DMC officer elections, a

selection of a CCDC board member and reappointments for CCDC and DRB. Committee members are Williams Brack, Elizabeth Low, and Victoria Young.

The recommendations are:

#### **DMC Officers**

Chairman – Williams Brack Vice Chair – Victoria Young Secretary – Surayyah Hasan Treasurer – Ray Brown

## **CCDC** Reappointments

Tanja Mitchell (2<sup>nd</sup> term – ending February 1, 2027) Kevin Brewer (2<sup>nd</sup> term – ending February 1, 2027)

## **New CCDC Board Member**

Lisa Brown-Tucker (replacing Anton Mack)

## **DRB Reappointments**

Michelle Ye (2<sup>nd</sup> term – ending March 1, 2026) Mike Hammond (2nd term – ending March 1, 2026) Mario Walker (2<sup>nd</sup> term – ending August 1, 2027)

#### **DRB** Chair

Michelle Ye (reappointed – ending June 30, 2025)

Chairman Orgel called for approval of each slate. Board member Willie Brooks asked the committee if any other names came up for nomination. DMC President Chandell Ryan responded that the presented slate was the only nomination. Ed Stephens motioned to approve the recommended DMC slate of officers, Chairman – Williams Brack, Vice Chair – Victoria Young, Secretary – Surayyah Hasan, and Treasurer – Ray Brown. Willie Brooks seconded the motion, after roll call vote, the motion passed unanimously.

Ed Stephens motioned to approve the CCDC reappointments of Tanja Mitchell and Kevin Brewer, Willie Brooks seconded the motion, after roll call vote, the motion passed unanimously.

Brett Roler gave a brief background of the new recommended CCDC board member Lisa Brown-Tucker. Ed Stephens motioned to approve the recommended CCDC board member, Lisa Brown-Tucker, Williams Brack seconded the motion, after roll call vote, the motion passed unanimously. Before moving to next slate, Willie Brooks asked if Demar Roberts term had ended. President Ryan replied that he, Willie Brooks replaced Demar Roberts on the DMC board. Lisa Brown-Tucker is replacing Anton Mack.

John Zeanah motioned to approve the DRB reappointments of Michelle Ye, Mike Hammond, and Mario Walker, Willie Brooks seconded the motion, after roll call vote, the motion passed unanimously.

Williams Brack motioned to approve Michelle Ye as DRB Chair, Janice Banks seconded the motion, after roll call vote, the motion passed unanimously.

# Chairman Benjamin Orgel called for agenda item VI: President's Report

Chandell Ryan presented updates on Blight, Crime Stats, Alley Dayz activation, KIX 106 celebrates 20 years, South Main is ranked #46 for best places for nightlife, and new restaurants and businesses.

Tori Haliburton gave a brief update on the Emerging Developer Program.

## Chairman Williams Brack called for agenda item VII: New Business/ Adjournment

Seeing no other business, the meeting was adjourned.